Someone Will Take Care of Me

SomeoneWillTakeCare-CoverFormat: Album (CD & digital)
Label: New Amsterdam Records

songs from Dargel’s two acclaimed music-theater pieces about hypochondria and voluntary amputation, celebrating the ways in which atypical behavior leads to more diverse interactions with the world, new approaches to creativity, and unconventional definitions of sanity.

Thirteen Near-Death Experiences (hypochondria)

  1. Touch Me Where It Counts
  2. Twelve-Year-Old Scotch
  3. Ritalin
  4. Deep Down Inside
  5. What Will It Be for Me
  6. Everybody Says I’m Beautiful
  7. Interlude
  8. Impotent Teeth
  9. Someone Else’s Pain
  10. There Is No Cure
  11. Sometimes a Migraine Is Just a Migraine
  12. Every Time You Undress Me
  13. Someone Will Take Care of Me

Removable Parts (voluntary amputation)

  1. Hooked for Life
  2. Why Not Take All
  3. Fully Functional
  4. Toes
  5. Fingers
  6. Hands
  7. Sincerely Yours
  8. Castration
  9. Brain
  10. Everybody Wannabe

Performance Credits:

Corey Dargel, vocals (Thirteen Near-Death Experiences)

International Contemporary Ensemble (Thirteen Near-Death Experiences)

Eric Lamb, flutes
Joshua Rubin, clarinets
Jacob Greenberg, piano
David Bowlin, violin
Kivie Cahn-Lipman, cello

David T. Little, drum set and percussion (Thirteen Near-Death Experiences)

Corey Dargel, vocals and synths (Removable Parts)

Kathleen Supové, piano (Removable Parts)

Production Credits:

recorded by Ryan Streber at Mt. Holyoke College, South Hadley, MA; and Oktaven Audio, Yonkers, NY;
Mastered by Bailey Math and Mike Rugnetta at Terminator Smile, Brooklyn, NY

photos by Luke Batten and Jonathan Sadler of New Catalogue;
design by Yvan Greenberg